History of the Program

In 1906, Wilbur Wade Card, Trinity College's Athletic Director and a member of the Class of 1900, introduced the game of basketball to Trinity. Trinty College later went on to beat the University of North Carlina in the first ever matchup between the two. Trinity College then became Duke Univeristy. The Indoor Stadium was opened in 1940 being named after Eddie Cameron, the head coach from 1929 to 1942. In 1952, Dick Groat became te first duke player to be named National Player of the Year. Duke left the Southern Conference and joined the Atlantic Coast Conference in 1953. Under head coach Vic Bubas, Duke made its first ever Final Four appearance which they lost to Loyola, 74-71. Duke is one of eight schools to ever reach 1000 wins. Mike Krzyzewski has been the head coach and is still currently there.

Mike Krzyzewski Era, Home