Solar System Logo

The Solar System

Home Page

Our Solar System consists of a total of 8 planets. Each planet follows an orbit around our solar system's sun. Moons, comets, asteroids, and minor planets also dust and gas particles roam around our slar system held in by gravity. The Solar System was created through solar nebulae, which sparked the creation of our Sun. Eventually gravity pulled different masses together creating planetesimals which eventually form the planets we now know today. Below is a simulation of how the orbits work in our solar system.

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

The Sun
Inner Planets
Outer Planets
Orbits & Affects
Work Cited