The History of the Boston Red Sox
1901- The Boston Red Sox franchise is born.
1912- Fenway Park opens.
1920- Babe Ruth is sold to the New York Yankees and the "Curse of the Bambino" is born.
1933- Tom Yawkey takes over the franchise.
1939- Ted Williams became a member of the Boston Red Sox.
1941- "Teddy Ballgame" bats .406 at age 23.
1942- Johnny Pesky became a Red Sox player.
1960- Ted Williams homers in his last at bat.
1961- Red Sox great, Carl Yastrzemski joins the Sox.
1969- Carlton Fisk becomes a member of the franchise.
1979- Yaz Hits Number 3,000.
1983- Roger Clemens strikes out a record number 20 batters in one game.
1997- Nomar Garciaparra joins the Red Sox and earns rookie of the year honors.
1998- Sox acquire Pedro Martinez.
2001- Sox sign superstar slugger Manny Ramirez.
2004- The Red Sox win their first world series since 1918, ending the "Curse of the Bambino"







Home | Official Red Sox Home Page | Active Roster | 2007 Schedule | MLB Standings | Red Sox News | Fan Forum | History of Fenway Park | Franchise Timeline | My Favorite Players | The "Curse of the Bambino" | Red Sox Championships