Regions | Works Cited | Reflection
The Italian Republic (formerly the "Kingdom of Italy" that was unified in 1861) was officially created in 1946, when the Italian Government opted to be a Constitutional State. Italy consists of the Italian Peninsula, Sicily, Sardinia, and many other smaller islands. The independent states of San Marino and the Vatican City are two small countries within the boundaries of Italy (enclaves), with the Vatican City being the first smallest and with San Marino being the fifth smallest countries of the world. The regions and territories each have histories that can date back up to 40,000 years; from these ancient civilizations came the well known ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Italian history and culture has given forth both great scientists and artists during the renaissance such as Leonardo Da Vinci, Michelangelo Buonarroti, and Galileo Galilei.

Italy Website Copyright (C) 2013 by Austin Weindel