Fun Facts

Howard J. Lamade Stadium was originally built in 1959, completely re-built in 1968, expanded in 1971, and updated in 2001 to better accommodate disabled persons and to include offices under the seating areas. In 2006, the roof was extended to the ends of the stadium, and additional seats with backs were added.

United States teams have won the most Little League Baseball World Series championships, with 28, the most recent being in 2006 (Columbus Northern Little League of Columbus, Ga.). Taiwan is next, with 17, the most recent in 1996 (Fu-Hsing Little League of Kao-Hsuing, Taiwan).

The first Little League Baseball World Series was played in 1947 at Original Field at Memorial Park, Williamsport. The Little League program itself was founded by Carl E. Stotz, an oil company clerk, in 1939 in Williamsport.



Taiwan has won 17 Little League World Series within there first 30 years competeing in the tournament