Home Page History Rules Teams Trophies and Awards Notable Players Reflection Works Citied

The Stanley Cup

The National Hockey League presents a number of trophies each year. The most prestigious team award is the Stanley Cup, which is awarded to the league champion at the end of the Stanley Cup playoffs. The team that has the most points in the regular season is awarded the President's Trophy. There are also numerous trophies that are awarded to players based on their statistics during the regular season, including the Art Ross Trophy for the league scoring champion (goals and assists), the Maurice Richard Trophy for the goal-scoring leader, and the William M. Jennings Trophy for the goalkeeper for the team with the fewest goals against them.


The other player trophies are voted on by the Professional Hockey Writer's Association or the team general managers. The most prestigious individual award is the Hart Memorial Trophy which is awarded annually to the Most Valuable Player. The Vezina Trophy is awarded annually to the best goalkeeper on his team. The James Norris Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the National Hockey League's top defenceman, the Calder Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the top rookie, and the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy is awarded to the player deemed to combine the highest degree of skill and sportsmanship; all three of these awards are voted on by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association.












Total Stanley Cup Championships

Team Titles
Montreal Canadiens 24
Toronto Maple Leafs 13
Detroit Red Wings 11
Boston Bruins 6
Chicago Blackhawks 5
Edmonton Oilers 5
New York Islanders 4
New York Rangers 4
New Jersey Devils 3
Pittsburgh Penguins 3
Colorado Avalanche 2
Philadelphia Flyers 2
Anaheim Ducks 1
Calgary Flames 1
Carolina Hurricanes 1
Dallas Stars 1
Los Angeles Kings 1
Tampa Bay Lightning 1